News Center
News Center

Cannes in a Van and Ford Announce Winners of 2012 Van D’Or Awards for Independent Film

Legendary film critic Barry Norman presents awards at London ceremony

Movie lovers were the winners as Cannes in a Van, the four-wheeled champion of independent filmmaking, celebrated Europe’s most creative independent film makers at the Van d’Or Awards For Independent Film 2012, powered by Ford. This year’s recipients were announced in London, where they received their awards from legendary film critic Barry Norman in front of a packed audience of independent film fans and leading industry figures.

Cannes in a Van 2012 Van D’Or Awards for Independent Film

The Van d’Or award for Best Film was won by “82” directed by Calum Macdiarmid, a drama in which a disillusioned postman lets us into his dark world in quiet suburbia that beat more than 150 entries from independent filmmakers across Europe.

Andy Greenhouse Cannes in a Van co-founder said: “Our second annual Van d’Or Awards was bigger and better, with a broader range of categories and entries from 11 European countries. We have been able to celebrate the full spectrum of filmmaking across the independent scene, opening up opportunities for films which would not find a voice in traditional film festivals. The support from Ford makes that possible.”

Each of the 15 Van d’Or Award categories was judged by a panel of experts from the independent film world including Gurinder Chadha OBE, award-winning director of “Bend It Like Beckham”; Samantha Waite, Oscar-nominated producer of “Wish 143”; and Mark McQueen, award-winning director of “Devil’s Playground” and “The Only Way is Essex”.

“The standard of entries was exceptionally high, and selecting an overall winner had the jury arguing late into the night. It was a privilege to experience such a diverse range of films showcasing the unique and passionate spirit of independent film, and the quality of the entrants is a vindication of the Van d’Or awards and the positive impact they can have,” said Gurinder Chadha.

The Van d’Or Awards included the new Ford “Student Film in Transit Award” for full-time film students, with a £10,000 prize fund, that was won by “Gentrification”; and a special Van d’Or Legend award that was presented to Barry Norman for his role in influencing so many people to get involved with film.

The winning films will receive further exposure as Cannes in a Van takes to the road during 2012-2013, presenting the movies from its shiny new Transit at a series of shows through the year including film festivals, movie theatres and other events.

For further information please visit:

- ENDS -

Notes for Editors

1.  About Cannes in a Van
Cannes in a Van was created by two UK film enthusiasts who had the vision of taking independent films to the Cannes Film Festival, and presenting them from the back of a Ford Transit van.  The first trip took place in May 2007, and the journey has become an annual pilgrimage ever since.  As part of the mission to gain increased exposure for independent film, the group organised the first of the legendary Van d’Or film awards in 2011.  For more information, visit .

2.  The full list of winners in the 2012 Van d’Or Film Awards are:

  • Van d’Or Award for Best Film
    82 (Director – Calum Macdiarmid)
  • Best Feature
    Small Creatures
  • Best Drama
  • Best Documentary
    Roger the Real Life Superhero
  • Best Comedy
  • Best Animation
    Bertie Crisp
  • Screen Social award for Best Music-Based Film
    Address is Approximate
  • Best Motion Design
    The Adventures of Tintin
  • Best Director
    Steve Reeves (Taking Life)
  • Best Cinematography
    Sara Deane (Verity’s Summer)
  • Best Actor
    Darren Kent (Sunny Boy)
  • Best Actress
    Andrea Lowe (Taking Life)
  • Best Screenplay
    Trunks (Kevin Money)
  • Best Sound Design
    The Flow
  • The Shooting People Grass Roots Award
    Self Employed
  • The Student Film in Transit Award
    Gentrification (UK)
  • The Van d’Or Legend Award
    Barry Norman

3.  The judging panel for the 2012 Van d’Or Film Awards features leading film and media industry professionals and champions of independent film, and the complete list of jury members can be found at: .

# # #